in rural Paris, Iowa, and Wordpress

Headquarters

Headquarters, November 2008

Headquarters, November 2008

 

And did I ever take a shine to this establishment just up the street from my hotel in the 6th Arrondissement!

Decades ago I studied French for three years in high school and carried on for another two years in college, even unto a French literature course the reading in which was in French and the classes for which were conducted in French. That was not good enough for the cab drivers of Paris. At Le Saint Germain, however, the waiters and bartenders were delighted–albeit at times amused–with my persistence with my rusty French. I tipped them in return.

Although the outdoor cafés that were shot up last November were out in the 11th Arrondissement, I could not help but think of Le Saint Germain as I read the reports, a farm boy’s own personal entré into café society. That is stretching it, of course, but I like to think of it in that way. And so I shall.

 

6 Responses to “Headquarters”

    • StephenBrassawe

      My theory precisely, James. Better to try than not. But some of the French people disagree.

      Reply
    • StephenBrassawe

      Yes, and there was the problem. I had not practiced at all for a long time. Je t’aime toujours, mon amie.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

