in rural Paris, Iowa, and Wordpress

That Mule

Aboard Cisco

Aboard Cisco

Let us consider this offering a digression, digressions being something that I excel at. I loved that mule. His name was Cisco. Cisco introduced me to mules generally, and I must tell you, I was immediately taken with them. Extraordinary creatures. So sure-footed. So intrepid.

I have always observed a rule never to own a boat or an RV or a motorcycle or suchlike frivolities. I have also always observed the corollary to that rule, that is, to make it a practice always to befriend someone or another who does own those things so that I can avail myself of them without all the attendant trouble and expense. After making the acquaintance of Cisco, I determined always to maintain a friendship with someone who owns mules. In this case a life-long friend, someone whom I met in Kindergarten, owned two mules, one of which was Cisco. Perfect, I thought.

In the Dead of Night

In the Dead of Night

Since these snapshots were taken, however, my friend sold Cisco off to parts unknown without consulting me first, that is to say, behind my back, off to slavery in Egypt as far as I know . . . or Missouri maybe, which is just as bad.

Ah, well.

 

11 Responses to “That Mule”

  1. Dicky Neely

    Love the pic of you up on Cisco. My granddaddy had mules. I rode a mule before I ever rode a horse. Here’s to mules, they did a lot of the heavy work in our history.

    Reply
    • StephenBrassawe

      Incredible creatures, Dicky. I won’t bore you with further details. You already know.

      Reply
  2. mlhe

    Maybe it’s time to meet someone named Sally who owns a mustang. (I look forward to that blog post!)

    Reply
    • StephenBrassawe

      Since I last brought you up to date, Mary, the count has risen to 5,249 times that I have heard “Mustang Sally” in various honky-tonks. With my luck somebody will play the damned tune at my funeral. (Probably should get some instructions in place to preclude that.)

      Reply
  3. Angeline M

    I will soon be introduced to mules in Molokai next month when I ride one in the group that goes up and over into Kaulapapa, the leprosy colony. It’s a 90 minute ride in and then back. I hope I like mules by the end of that day.
    You need to find another friend with mules. I’m sorry for your loss of Cisco.

    Reply
    • StephenBrassawe

      I think you are going to love mules. Ya never know, but please report back.

      Reply
    • StephenBrassawe

      For sure, James. And all I did was hold on to that mule while he took me back home in the dead of night. Unbelievable experience.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

