in rural Paris, Iowa, and Wordpress

Contentment

2015-12-172b17-08-39

Contentment

The frantic search for happiness is misguided. Happiness is intended to be a fleeting state of mind and to be enjoyed in that spirit. The proper object of the quest is contentment, I think. Contentment is a calmer state of mind, one in which we can luxuriate day in and day out, night in and night out. Our ability to revel in contentment is endless.

6 Responses to “Contentment”

  1. laginette

    I have the feeling that to reach contentment in my case I have to do soo many things alone that what I realy need is not contentment but rest. I do hope that one day I will be able to reach that contentment and enjoy just to breath or be like those dogs and my Whisky and just sleep and rest .

    Reply
  2. sonnyboy3

    I think you are once again right on the mark! As I write I am surrounded by sleeping cats, napping through the 95 degree here in the AC.

    Reply
  3. spixl

    Completely agree, which is why I’ve felt more at home with the Spanish word, contento. Los perros están contentos. 😉

    Reply
  4. MaryLou Cook

    Those dogs sure look contented……of course, you & Susan are probably a step or two above contentment.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

