in rural Paris, Iowa, and Wordpress

Might Have Been (II)

Might Have Been III

San Miguel de Allende, 29 November 2012

Might Have Been IV

I have published other photos of this subject in this blog. It is an unfinished church, apparently forever to be unfinished. I keep returning to it. It was far and away the most interesting place to shoot photographs that I have ever encountered.

My friend, the unhinged québécois Michel Pellerin, is a true photographer from whom I learned so much. He, too, was fascinated by this site. He approaches the same subjects in a different way than I, which in itself was instructive. You can see his photographs of this abandoned construction here.

6 Responses to “Might Have Been (II)”

  1. sonnyboy3

    Haunting…I recall seeing, in Puerto Vallarta, Guadalajara and other places, some large, unfinished mansions and other large homes and buildings. Locals said these places belonged to cartel members who had been busted or worse and their projects left to languish. I can’t verify the truth of those stories but it is interesting. Great pics as always.

    Reply
    • StephenBrassawe

      You are so right, sonnyboy. Mexico is loaded with unfinished construction in my experience. I am sure that the scenario you outline is true in some cases. Then again, I have seen huge apartment complexes that are unfinished and obviously abandoned. I think that there is a great optimism at work among would-be developers there. Often they are confident that they have enough financing to complete the project, but so often it falls through at the midway point. That’s just my own speculation.

      Reply
    • StephenBrassawe

      I love these mysteries, too, Michel. That place is mysterious in a profound way. Perhaps it is because it was obviously intended to be a church. I just don’t know.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

