in rural Paris, Iowa, and Wordpress

Progress Report

Action Painting Background

The background is finished. Sorry about that glare. The blue was still wet when I took this photo. I have learned something since we last spoke . . .

Action Painting Background Detail

Here is a detail from the thing. As I said, the blue paint is still wet. The brown paint is dry of course. See those little white flecks in the brown? The only leftover paint that I could find on this place was latex. When the glops of latex dry, little fissures develop in it letting the white base show through. For that reason I would suggest that when you do your own action painting, you use enamel. (You would never get valuable tips on a project like this from Martha Stewart.) As for me–as did Peewee Herman when he fell off his bicycle in front of the little girl–I shall just say, “I meant to do that.”

Although I know that you are amazed at this background, I can tell you that it was a piece of cake. Now comes the hard part, however. I shall next apply the yellow. Instead of whipping it on with a brush, I intend to drip it on with a stick. It is a tense situation here as I type this. I have studied the composition and studied it some more trying to put together a plan for the yellow. After I drip that yellow on, this thing will either be a work of art or a piece of junk. We shall see.

More about my ultimate intentions for the piece later.

8 Responses to “Progress Report”

  1. sonnyboy3

    “To the man who loves art for its own sake it is frequently in its least important and lowliest manifestations that the keenest pleasure is to be derived.” Sherlock Holmes, in The Adventures of the Copper Beeches, by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle
    Personally I think if a thing is done with a pure heart and a desire to create something, it is art.

    Reply
    • StephenBrassawe

      I am so sad that I am so many miles away that I must distract myself with projects like this, Michel. As General MacArthur so eloquently put it when he was thrown out of the Philippines, however . . . I shall return.

      Reply
  2. calitexan1949

    Brasss, R&R Looks like you’re starting to scratch the surface. Love the semi-complimentary color combination. Recommend Orange and Ultramarine Blue… Violet & Chrome Yellow… Chartreuse and Crimson… color, space and diluted washes make the process more than it is. Black background adds a whole new dimension. You can lose yourself in this. James

    Date: Tue, 9 Sep 2014 00:46:03 +0000 To: jmac725@hotmail.com

    Reply
    • StephenBrassawe

      Now I am considering putting the yellow on and scraping it like Gerhard Richter does. Probably a bad idea though. I have to think more about this.

      Reply
    • StephenBrassawe

      No doubt you are correct, Mary. I went down there this morning to see it now that it has dried. The background looks pretty good, all of which has now increased the pressure on me yet more. I am watching abstract painting tutorials on youtube and am now completely overthinking this.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

