in rural Paris, Iowa, and Wordpress

Neighbors Once Upon a Time

Frost-025

30 December 2012, 11:32 a.m.

That which remains of a neighboring farmstead. Isolated out here, I am beginning to believe that I am some character in a Jack London novel. I have plenty of firewood.

If it sounds as if I am feeling a bit sorry for myself, that is as it should be. I am feeling a bit sorry for myself.

7 Responses to “Neighbors Once Upon a Time”

  1. michel pellerin

    In order of appreciating the cold, you need to be either masochist or being born in the South. I empathize with you. It can be nice sometimes but at the same time your hands are freezing as your brain…

    Reply
  2. The Wanderlust Gene

    It’s as it should be, I think – out there in that bleak lifeless cold … But this too shall pass, and one day soon you’ll be back in the sun, in your beloved San Miguel de Allende 🙂

    Reply
  3. Angeline M

    I clicked the photo to the max…what an incredible photo. I can almost hear the wind and snow howling through there. Feel sorry for yourself, do what you have to do, and then get out and back to Mexico.

    Reply
  4. veraersilia

    HI! In my younger years I read all of Jack London, all … but the wolves, the wolves, are there wolves howling at your door ?

    Reply
  5. spixl

    Coffee in hand, this quote comes to mind: “True Art is an organized piece of work that effectively communicates a genuine human experience” — Caleb Jacobo. That photo is definitely a work of art. Muchisimas gracias.

    Reply
  6. Jamie Dedes

    Well, everyone is entitled to a little of that and sometimes it’s justified.

    What a different scene here from Mexico, eh? That alone might do it, though this is starkly beautiful and does remind of Jack London.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

