in rural Paris, Iowa, and Wordpress

non sequitur

DCF 1.0

November 2007

I blundered upon some old snapshots on an old computer in this old farmhouse. The joint pictured above is my headquarters in Paris. Just for the record. Difficult to believe that the last visit was five years ago.

DCF 1.0

This joint is the fall back.

If I were in the business of recommending things to others, which I most emphatically am not, I would not recommend Paris in November. However, that particular November I needed Paris desperately. So what are you going to do in a situation such as that? The answer to that question is easy. In a situation such as that you go to Paris no matter the time of year.

More of the alleys of Guanajuato soon.

3 Responses to “non sequitur”

  1. Bloggerboy

    Ah, a left banker! My haunt, too. My last visit was at the end of August. We took a train there for a day, returning home the same evening. Just enough time to see an exhibit and then walk over the the 5th Arrondissement for lunch and coffee to pay my respects to my former self, the ghost of whom still haunts those streets. Never been there in November, but I know what you are talking about.

    Reply
  2. spixl

    Favorite memory… Being a 19 year old in Paris in late November; an early evening, walking up the Champs Élysées, as a gentle first snow of the season fell. Pure magic!

    Reply
    • StephenBrassawe

      That would be magic. In this particular November it rained . . . and rained.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

