in rural Paris, Iowa, and Wordpress

Alleys of Guanajuato

San Antonio Run-027

Guanajuato on 10 December 2012 at 10:42 a.m.

On that cloudy day, the day before I started my drive north, I rode over to the capital city with Michel and spent the day in Guanajuato walking around with him. I wanted to soak up some reserve of Mexico to last me while I am gone from it for a time. We spent the entire day exploring the alleys of Guanajuato, a city of alleys–callejones. Many have exotic names such as the Alley of Hearts and the Alley of Hell. Many are enchanting. Many are not. We were in some where we had no business being, alleys into which the King’s Writ does not extend.

I will do a little series here on these alleys, a strange choice of subjects. Many of the photos will be anything other than beautiful. This endeavor will have a limited appeal for my visitors, I know. But I am in a mood isolated out here in this old farmhouse cleaning it out. For some reason this fits my mood. Look at it this way. You can go into some places with me on this blog that you might not go into alone.

San Antonio Run-022

8 Responses to “Alleys of Guanajuato”

  1. Rubye Jack

    I love these photos for their realness or authenticity, much of my reason for my love of Mexico I suppose. Even though I’ve never been past Ensenada. What can I say.
    I look forward to hearing of your exploration of these alleys, and honestly, I’ve never cared for photoshop anyway. Photoshop to my mind only takes reality and subverts it to some pretty cause.

    Reply
    • StephenBrassawe

      There is a time and a season for everything, I suppose, Rubye Jack. During this little series, however, it will be neither the time nor the season for photoshop.

      Reply
  2. Misirlou

    The bright colored houses toward the top of the hill pop like sparks of hope.

    Reply
    • StephenBrassawe

      The color choices that the people of Guanajuato make for their houses are like none that I have seen anywhere else.

      Reply
  3. The Wanderlust Gene

    Can’t believe it’s been this long since I last checked in, Stephen!

    I don’t mind walking with you down some sleezy alleyways, dangerous, noisome places where I’m not keen to go alone, but you know, Paradise needs the sting to be paradise, and it does us good sometimes, to look at it. Refraining from naming it ‘shameful’, I have a file called “and not so nice” that I like to add to from time to time, just to remind me that my paradise is a place, not a concept.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

