in rural Paris, Iowa, and Wordpress

Destination Linares

San Antonio Run-305
Yucca Country, State of Nuevo Leon, Mexico, on 12 December 2012 at 8:51 a.m.

Let us back up a little bit in the road trip–before Texas. We must cross the border to get into Texas, and that we have not done yet.

Theoretically, one could do an all out drive from San Miguel de Allende to the border in one day. I have done that once previously with Michel on the way to Montreal. Our crossing point was the bridge into Laredo that time. That is not normally how I do it. I only did it that time because I was with the unhinged Quebecois.

My usual crossing point is from Reynosa, Mexico, into McAllen, Texas. I leave on day one for a leisurely drive north on the fout-lane highway, Mexico 57, to Matehuala and stay the night in the Las Palmas hotel there. Then I get up early in the morning on day two and drive like a bat out of hell to Reynosa right through Zeta country in the states of Nuevo Leon and Tamaulipas. Between an hour and two hours north of Matehuala, one turns off of Mexico 57 to the east toward Linares on a highway that is either Mexico 60, 53, or 31 depending on which reference one consults. One does this to avoid Monterrey. This highway heads straight east through the Sierra Madre Oriental and down to Linares and the coastal plain. As one approaches those mountains, one drives through the big yucca country pictured above.

In making that run from Matehuala to the border on day two, you will encounter road blocks, or more properly, check points. I hit three–two set up by the federales and one set up by the Mexican army. Since I was not carrying any drugs north, all three were a piece of cake. In fact I had a nice chat with the troops of the Mexican army as they went through my stuff.

San Antonio Run-309

Come to think of it, though, none of you care at all about any of that. Perhaps you will like the yucca photos.

13 Responses to “Destination Linares”

  1. veraersilia

    I had a huge yucca that grew in my California front yard. It was beautiful with many trunks and it bloomed every year. I do not know if the new owners cut it down. Sometimes people simply don’t know any better.

    Reply
    • StephenBrassawe

      They are extraordinarily beautiful plants, vera. To my taste anyway.

      Reply
  2. Angeline M

    Enjoy the photos, but most of all the mention of Matehuala. When I was a kid, we drove to Mexico often from San Antonio and would spend the night at a motel in Matehuala. Oh the adventures and stories! Great memories. Thanks.

    Reply
    • StephenBrassawe

      I will bet that you stayed in this very same hotel or motel, Angeline. It has been there forever. Betcha. Betcha.

      Reply
      • Angeline M

        The name sounds awfully familiar, but I can’t remember for sure…so you may just be correcto. I’m going to have to google it to see if I can find a picture of it…..what fun!

        Reply
        • Angeline

          IT IS where we stayed!!!! Photos were still vaguely familiar, of course it looks newer, but when I read the reviews on Trip Advisor about parking right by your room, I knew that this is the place we stayed. That is part of one of the silly stories of our great road trips from San Antonio into Mexico. Incredible!

  3. Eugene Knapik

    I would just like to point out that not all Quebecois are unhinged. Perhaps just your friends. I don’t know the actual percentage. The yucca are indeed beautiful.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

