in rural Paris, Iowa, and Wordpress

Portrait or Landscape?

Unfinished Construction 064

29 November 2012

I must laugh at myself out there sometimes. I have never taken so many photos in portrait orientation in my life. Sometimes I catch myself trying to cram something into portrait orientation that has no business whatsoever being there. Why? Because the portrait orientation works so much better with my damned blog, of course.

The subject here is another space within that abandoned church construction site that we looked at before, a space with a different flavor than those in the other photographs. This is an instance wherein photos in either portrait or landscape orientation work well. At least, I think so. In that situation we need both. Why eat only half of the M&M’s when you can dump the whole bag in your mouth at once?

Unfinished Construction 065

Here again there is that problem of the extreme between the sunny portion of the photo and the shady portion of the photo rearing its head. Close enough. I like the photos anyway because I very much like standing in that part of the building shell and taking it all in.

We previously established that these are not photos of a church. These are photos of what might have been a church.

12 Responses to “Portrait or Landscape?”

  1. kalabalu

    Portrait or landscape, the picture is about the light triangle, formed by the rosary windows above and the rows of deep set arches below. All ushering in light, as was originally conceived by the designer. It is about connecting to beyond , the light is a medium spiritual and pure. A human body has light pouring in through eyes or heart as a light to soul. When, I look at this picture, I find light in a triangle..strong as a form.

    Reply
  2. The Wanderlust Gene

    Kalabalu’s right – either way it’s about the light, but to my mind each tells a different story – the portrait is more grand, an intimation of the architect’s vision for the nave of his church, the landscape seems to be a bit more domestic, human in scale, welcoming the visitor to linger in the warm shadows before being drawn inexorably down the nave to stand in that sunshine. This shell of a building has so many faces.

    Reply
  3. Angeline M

    The protrait is more grand, I agree, but the landscape gives us the view of the concave arches of the ceiling and the two additional round windows on either side that would otherwise be missed. The only solution is to do as you have done here, and show both.

    Reply
    • StephenBrassawe

      Go square! That is the answer! Thank you so much, Stephen. And Stephen, I want you to know that I am always delighted when you visit. You are one of the best at this whose work I have looked at around here.

      Reply
      • Stephen G. Hipperson

        You’re very kind – but the feeling is at least mutual.

        My fiddle arsing around with my folding cameras and rollei slr has been a useful experience – I quite like a square format myself.

        Reply
  4. StephenBrassawe

    Thank you all for visiting and for commenting–those who commented. I am a bit rushed right now for reasons that I will explain tomorrow.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

