in rural Paris, Iowa, and Wordpress

Balloon Guys

I admit that at first glance this photo might appear to be a photo of Nuestra Señora de la Salud, the old church on Plaza Cívica Ignacio Allende. Construction of Nuestra Señora de la Salud was completed in 1555 or thereabouts by the way. If it were a photo of Nuestra Señora de la Salud, it would therefore constitute a violation of my public oath never again to publish another photo of a church in this blog.

You will notice, however, that Nuestra Señora de la Salud only happens to be in the background. If I were to prohibit myself from publishing any photos wherein churches happen to be in the background, then I would be able to publish few photos taken in town. In point of fact, if you look more closely at this photo . . .

001 (56)

Sunday, 2 September 2012 at 9:30 a.m.

. . . you will clearly see that it is actually a photo of the balloon guys.

001 (4)

Plaza Cívica Ignacio Allende–the statue of General Allende’s horse is situated out of view to the right–is pretty much all Mexican all the time in contrast to El Jardin, the other major plaza uptown that is now flooded with tourists during the “high season.” For this reason I prefer Plaza Cívica Ignacio Allende for my plaza lounging and people watching.

001 (136)

Plaza Cívica Ignacio Allende then.

There is yet another balloon guy here.

19 Responses to “Balloon Guys”

  1. kalabalu

    From then to now, colors have been added and skyline has changed. When I look at then, it got many towers, dome like and cupolas adorning the blank vertical surface, now it is headless..but yes the line up of tree is a good way to make the view limited and focused to the remains. And the balloon man does have many colors to display, and if all the balloons were released, the skyline would definitely change.
    And as per oath..well that is a totally different story…hush

    Reply
    • StephenBrassawe

      It has changed greatly since then in many ways, kalabalu, but Nuestra Señora de la Salud still stands in the middle of it all.

      Reply
      • kalabalu

        yes..and we should be thankful for that, it is interesting if you got a series of pictures from then and now, write an article why ? How? What? was changed, who used? and who owns..That would be a recorded narration of changes in the skyline by StephenBrassawe, for you to see

        Reply
  2. spixl

    Love the balloon guys and gals! Oaxaca’s zócalo is filled with them and they always make me smile.

    Reply
    • StephenBrassawe

      I believe that it was Winnie the Pooh who said that nobody can be uncheered by a balloon.

      Reply
  3. Angeline M

    My heart skipped a beat when I first opened up this post…..but then I saw the balloon guys, and they do indeed cheer me up, especially when I click on the photo to enlarge it. Happy colors! Mexican plazas would not be the same without them.
    PS: the structure in back of the balloon guys is quite beautiful.

    Reply
    • StephenBrassawe

      You thought it was going to be just more photos of churches, Angeline. You thought that I had finally caved in.

      Reply
  4. mlhe

    Thank you for the ticket: I was compelled to go to Mexico after coffee and before everything else today! Truth: reading your blog is BETTER than going to Mexico.

    Reply
    • StephenBrassawe

      I would not go that far, Mary, but it is wonderful to see you here.

      Reply
  5. veraersilia

    And why did you wow NOT to put up church photos? did somebody complain? churches are an expression of how people lived and live. They carry history. I am not religious at all bu I love to see churches. Intersperse them with other things but continue to show them!

    Reply
    • StephenBrassawe

      No, no, vera. It was just that I myself was afraid that I was putting up too many photos of churches. I will continue to find some way around that public vow every time. Don’t worry.

      Reply
    • StephenBrassawe

      Thanks, Scott. I love this church and have a raft of photos of it. I love the balloon guys, too.

      Reply
    • StephenBrassawe

      Just as they complete the first sale of the day, Jamie, the balloon guys always make the sign of the cross before they put the money away, this to give thanks for that first sale and to pray for more sales in the hours that follow. I am always pulling for them to sell every single goddamned balloon they have.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

