in rural Paris, Iowa, and Wordpress

Uriel Moreno

Plaza de Toros Oriente on 16 September 2012 at 7:00:27 p.m.

This is admittedly a crop-out. I wanted to isolate Uriel, and I had enough resolution to do it acceptably but not perfectly. If you wish to see the complete image, you can do so here.

13 Responses to “Uriel Moreno”

  1. Angeline M

    The cropped version of Uriel only is fantastic; the look of concentration is captured so well. One can imagine the bull coming without seeing it. The uncropped version is also very good.

    Reply
    • StephenBrassawe

      That was what I was hoping would stand out in this photo, Angeline, and the bull is a distraction from that.

      I always steel myself for comments when I post one of these. Many are offended by the corrida for good reasons and are welcome to sound off. I am not going to try to defend it. Many of the people of Spain, Mexico, and the rest of Latin America are just as offended. It is banned now in Catalonia. When it is banned everywhere, that will be a good thing for me. I will save a lot of money because as it stands now, I cannot help myself. I buy tickets every chance I get.

      Reply
  2. Angeline M

    It’s been years since I’ve been to a bullfight. I loved the electric atmosphere, the music, the colors. I always closed my eyes at …..you know when.
    While I don’t condone animal cruelty, I also don’t understand how this might differ from taking cows into a stall and killing them however they kill them to make hamburgers.

    Reply
    • StephenBrassawe

      My God! High praise indeed. I am going out to take some breakfast while I revel in this.

      Reply
    • StephenBrassawe

      I kinda anticipated your feelings about it, Jamie. No, it is not a sport. I have spent a good deal of time considering my choice of terms and finally settled on “spectacle.”

      On the point to which you allude, during their time on this earth the bulls live an idyllic existence up to the last. This I have seen. Moreover, they would not have enjoyed any existence at all were it not for this spectacle. Little comfort, I know.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

