in rural Paris, Iowa, and Wordpress

A Bad Idea

Not long ago I got the bright idea to enhance my personal image as presented in my blogs. Yes, some people liked the photographs of Mexican plants, Mexican landscape, and antique Mexican architecture, but the overall effect was coldly impersonal. My personal “likeability,” as it is called, was non-existent and therefore could not be measured. I determined that a photograph of myself with Mexican children was the ticket.

I cannot capture in words what a pain in the ass it was finally to secure this one little phoney heartwarming photo. The children had to be bribed with candy even to consider cooperating, which put most of them on a hyperactive sugar high before the first shot was taken.

And so, as you can see here in one of the myriad early attempts, it was difficult to get the attention of the children. The lad in the somewhat white tee standing behind me was impervious to threats of physical violence for example. The weeping toddler in front hated me.

This will be the last time that I give even a passing thought to my own personal likeability here.

9 Responses to “A Bad Idea”

    • StephenBrassawe

      Luis Eduardo is, to put it bluntly, a naturally sullen child.

      Reply
    • StephenBrassawe

      Early in the photo shoot I was still able to manage a natural smile, Angeline. As the session wore on, however, my smile became more like the rictus of a corpse as you can see.

      Reply
    • StephenBrassawe

      Ain’t it the truth? Obviously, I am fond of those children, and I got just what I deserved for attempting to use them in this way.

      Reply
      • The Wanderlust Gene

        Of course, if you’d all been doing what it is you often do together in a casual shot with whoever was in the frame it would have been just what you wanted, if you were truly going for the warm and fuzzy look 🙂

        Reply

Leave a Reply

