Ever Fountains

There are 45 public fountains in the central historical district. I believe that I have now shot them all straightaway. I shall never swear off posting photographs of fountains. Forewarned is forearmed. I have, however, begun attempts to shoot some in a bit more imaginative, arty way. This is not one of those attempts nor does it happen to be one of the fountains in the central historical district.

4 August 2012, 8:14 a.m.

This is what I call the Independence Fountain in the very early morning light just after the sun had emerged from behind the mountain. It faces directly into the rising sun and has seen many dawns from the middle of a little traffic circle down Calle Cardo on the way to Parque Benito Juárez. Consequently, it is the fountain that I walk by most often. This works out quite nicely because it is one of my two favorite fountains in town.

Last Sunday I walked by the fountain to find three men setting up this display. This was the first time it had occurred to me that Day of the Dead is upon us. Day of the Dead is this coming weekend.

I have developed a disconcerting problem staying oriented in time. Laura has surprised me on occasion in the morning when she has come to clean the apartment, for example, because I had no idea it was Thursday. I never argue with Laura about what day of the week it is nor anything else. If Laura says it is Thursday, then it is Thursday, and I clear out. She does not want me under foot as she works. If Laura says the furniture ought to be arranged this way, then the furniture shall be arranged this way. Laura feels proprietary about the Gregorian Calendar, my apartment, and all of my belongings in my apartment, which is fine with me. Let her expend that effort.

As for my orientation in space, I do better. Little things, such as this display those men set up on and around the Independence Fountain, are constant reminders for me that, clearly and obviously, I am in México. That then leads to the ineluctable conclusion that I am still on the planet Earth, the third rock from the same Sun that lights up the Independence Fountain in the morning.

Leave a Reply

