in rural Paris, Iowa, and Wordpress

Last Door; Last Church


I had sworn never again to publish another photograph of a door or another photo of a Mexican church in any of my blogs. I have sworn never again to do a lot of things in my life. I justify myself in this case by pointing out that the subject of this entry is not a church but rather a chapel.

I was surveying the realm on Sunday morning from a vantage point on the side of the mountain. At my feet I noticed this odd structure directly below me. I determined to investigate. Getting down to it was no mean feat. Still, I am here to serve. I am a river unto my people.

The photo above is a view of the rear of the building as I approached. A view of the rear end of most anything is my favorite view.

It has its own little flying buttress.

Opposite the door to the building was this structure. Let us call it a “grotto.” I was obviously trespassing. I felt badly about that. I could have gotten shot! In which case I would have felt even worse. Still, I am here to serve . . . etc. . . . etc.

Inside the grotto was this mural.

To the side was this outbuilding. The entire place appears to be in use now as a site for the salvage of construction materials. There were used roofing tiles stacked next to the grotto. There are wooden shipping pallets strewn around here in various stages of disassembly.

I risked serious physical injury while crawling up on top of the grotto to bring to you this photo of the chapel itself. Still, I am here to serve . . . etc. . . . etc.

12 Responses to “Last Door; Last Church”

  1. Eugene Knapik

    Steve, sometimes you have to break your own rules. It’s a fantastic building, a fabulous door and a delightful mural. You did good. Just don’t make a habit of it.

    Reply
    • StephenBrassawe

      I will not make a habit of it, street. The greater risk of course is the risk of getting shot.

      Reply
    • StephenBrassawe

      There is not much left of the original door, Gene. It is patched with some very rough pieces. The thing is, it is still hung, still suspended, not dragging on the floor. The hinges on the inside must each be the size of the right front fender of my truck. The hinges for that door are probably the only thing left worth seeing on the inside.

      I will go back soon when somebody is there working and try to get permission to go inside the building.

      Reply
  2. dicklespot

    Don’t stop! I love your doors. And this chapel door is my favorite so far. Keep them coming!

    Reply
    • StephenBrassawe

      Hahahahahaha. All right, partner. It is not like I am short on inventory of door photos.

      Reply
  3. Jamie Dedes

    My brain is leaping and dancing – is that possible? – well, let’s say my imagination is on fire … what are the stories behind this site? Who were the people. Spin and spin and spin … we are each called to serve in a different way …. Between your photos and my cat, I will never sleep tonight …But first I have to find out way no mas iglesias …

    Reply
    • StephenBrassawe

      We will find out what the story is. There is a kind of closed off community of indigenous people near this site. A photographer acquaintance, Steve Isaac of steveisaacphotography.com, has worked in Mexico all his life. He thinks that this chapel has something to do with that community. As I say, we will find out.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

