in rural Paris, Iowa, and Wordpress

Who Cares What It Is Called?

I find this plant to be as visually striking as any that I have encountered on the planet to date, which is all a matter of taste of course. I do not know the name of this plant. It is a personal failing of mine to be uninterested in Adam’s names for living things. The naming of things was a facet of the dominion divinely given Adam over the fish of the sea, and over the fowl of the air, and over every living thing that moveth upon the earth. This I consider to have been a big fucking mistake on the deity’s part. There are now fewer than 100 fully grown adult cod left alive in the North Sea. I think, nonetheless, that this plant is a member of the yucca family.

I am aware that the last few photos that I have posted appear a bit washed out.  As I mentioned a while back, it was not all that long ago that I did not know what the word “resolution” meant, nor did I care to know.  Consequently, when I started taking big resolution photographs, I simply posted them. The only difference that I noticed at first was that I could have a cup of coffee while they uploaded. Then I found that I had profligately pissed away a chunk of the free storage space that the WordPress people, in their goodness, had allotted me. I was forced to learn something about resolution and file size in order to conserve what free space is left. In the case of those last few photographs, I turned the set screw down too tightly on d.p.i. in converting the files for upload. Obviously, 50 d.p.i. is not going to cut it.

That all illustrates something about life. One is constantly forced to do things one is not interested in doing to be able to do those things in which one is interested. For example, nobody is really interested in doing wage labor. Yet, wage labor is often necessary if we wish to do something that actually does interest us. Like eating food when we are hungry.

One Response to “Who Cares What It Is Called?”

  1. Eugene Knapik

    So many truths embedded in one post. One thing I’m sure of though, is the plant is not a member of the cod family. It’s beautiful though.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

