in rural Paris, Iowa, and Wordpress

Peephole

In Calle Recreo at 8:59 a.m. on Sunday, 19 August 2012.

6 Responses to “Peephole”

  1. dicklespot

    Every time I look at this picture, I see more detail. There’s a lot going on here. I’d love to know this door’s story.

    Reply
    • StephenBrassawe

      I could go on at length concerning this comment of yours, dickles. The usual approach with regard to the myriad fascinating doors in this place is to photograph the door along with the door frame and a bit of the surrounding wall. In fact that is usually the best approach. See, for example, Michel’s photo “Callejon del Chorro 3A.” There is a poster for sale here that features fifty little photos of doors composed in that way. Context, I guess you would call it.

      Finally, finally, finally, I figured out that in some cases—and this clearly is one of them—the story is in the door and only in the door, and when one puts the door in the context of the door frame and some of the surrounding wall, the door’s story is lost.

      Reply
        • dicklespot

          You aren’t the first to call me a hopeless nutcase!

          I love architecture not just for the structures themselves but for their place in society. What role the building plays, and whether it is revered or abused, pristine or hand-worn, etc. Old buildings have so many stories to tell. Of course, I don’t think this is nutty at all. 🙂

          I really like your fountain picture (I have a thing for fountains myself). What a gorgeous town you live in. You are very fortunate!

Leave a Reply

