in rural Paris, Iowa, and Wordpress

Fuente de la Barranca


Calle de la Barranca y Calle Hospicio
at 9:05 a.m. on 4 August 2012.

Still in the grip of the fountain fascination, I am almost through it, I think. I do believe that I can see the end of this tunnel of fixation.

This fountain memorializes something. The choice of stone for the oval plaque in the center appears to have been an unfortunate one. I would love to be able to see this fountain as it was in its day. So far I have found nothing to read relating to it. I will inquire about it of the old people up there.

There is one word in that oval that is nearly legible. I intend to do a pencil and paper . . . I cannot remember what the term for that is. Anyway, I shall engage in some lunacy in an attempt to determine what that word is. Seeing an old, long-haired gringo engage in such goofiness entertains the Mexican people to no end. I am not the first, and I won’t be the last.

Date unknown.

Today.

5 Responses to “Fuente de la Barranca”

    • StephenBrassawe

      The black and white is a bit of a fixation right now, too, Michel, as you know. I ought to be learning something. I have been doing a lot. Thank you for noticing.

      Reply
  1. mountainmae

    Fabulous fountain- love the garland at the top of the columns and the big leaves. In his day everyone knew his name- how fleeting fame.

    Reply
  2. Writhing in Agony | The Solipsist

    […] anyway, let us remedy a situation in this blog relating to this fountain. I recently stumbled upon the 18 August entry featuring this same fountain. The black and white image is fine. In fact I remain rather proud of […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

