in rural Paris, Iowa, and Wordpress

Dream On

In the Sierra Gorda near Conca. 24 July 2012.

Better than church.


All our dreams can come true if we have the courage to pursue them. –Walt Disney.

And since it is the Sabbath, we ought to continue our search for useful words to live by. In 1947, the year of my birth, Walt Disney testified before H.U.A.C., the House Committee on Un-American Activities:

HAS: Can you name any other individuals that were active at the time of the strike that you believe in your opinion are Communists?

Walt Disney: Well, I feel that there is one artist in my plant, that came in there, he came in about 1938, and he sort of stayed in the background, he wasn’t too active, but he was the real brains of this, and I believe he is a Communist. His name is David Hilberman.

HAS: How is it spelled?

Walt Disney: H-i-l-b-e-r-m-a-n, I believe. I looked into his record and I found that, number one, that he had no religion and, number two, that he had spent considerable time at the Moscow Art Theatre studying art direction, or something.

Apparently, Walt Disney’s dream at that time was to to destroy someone else’s dream.

3 Responses to “Dream On”

  1. michel pellerin

    I called one of my recent picture the «Disneyland» house but I did not remembered that Walt Disney had participate in the mind cleaning process of the McCarthy era.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

