in rural Paris, Iowa, and Wordpress

Hotel Francés

Third Floor

To each his own taste. I found the venerable Hotel Francés, in downtown Guadalajara since 1610, to be the most charming hotel in which I have ever had the honor to be a guest. Laden with atmosphere and exuding a spare beauty. Perhaps the photos will give you a better feel for whether it might be to your taste. Still, I hasten to add that I never recommend anything to anyone, shy about responsibility as I am.

Third Floor Looking Down . . . obviously

Third Floor

My companion and I stayed in a room on the third floor the first night. I then found enough space on a credit card to upgrade to one of the rooms on the roof, which were obviously contemporary additions to the hotel. It was unanticipated debt well worth incurring, especially given my cavalier attitude toward financial matters generally.

Rooftop Arcade

Rooftop Suite: Jacuzzi in the bathroom; hot tub on the roof.

Cleanliness is next to godliness.

10 Responses to “Hotel Francés”

    • StephenBrassawe

      I tried to do it justice with the photos, but you have to be there. I wish I could congratulate whoever designed this building way back when.

      Reply
    • StephenBrassawe

      Part of the great pleasure of finding it was that it was so unexpected, mountainmae. I had no idea until I first walked into the place. It is the simplicity of it. That is a complicated matter accomplishing beautiful simplicity.

      Reply
    • StephenBrassawe

      It is not only the comfort, thuytrang, although it was comfortable. In the place where I have lived most of my life, a building is very old when it has stood for fifty years. Then we tear it down and build a new one. Consequently, living in a building that has stood for 400 years is still a new experience for me. It still delights me. It might be different for you because you have so many beautiful, very old buildings in your own country.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

