in rural Paris, Iowa, and Wordpress

The Image of Tess


This is a facial composite of Tess Durbeyfield, better known as Tess of the d’Urbervilles, done with a computer program similar to that police use in putting together facial composites of suspects with the help of “eye witnesses.” This is apparently one of the things that a gentleman named Brian Joseph Davis does during his time here on the planet. He did this composite image based upon descriptions found in the text of the novel and has done images of other literary characters in this way.

While conceding that I am commonly astounded, sometimes simply as a result of awakening in the morning, nevertheless, I am astounded by this. Astounded and delighted. This is eerily close to my own mental image of one of my favorite literary characters. I am by no means implying that I am an extraordinarily perspicacious reader. Rather, it just turned out this way.

Now then, it could be that this all is a con by Brian Joseph Davis, and the image above is actually that of a young lady named Janet from Peoria. If that is the case, then I tip my hat . . . where is my hat? . . . ah, here it is . . . to Brian Joseph Davis for pulling off a dazzling con.

4 Responses to “The Image of Tess”

  1. michelpellerin

    If you read this comment = Do not believe him when he writes … I am by no means implying that I am an extraordinarily perspicacious reader… Because I begin to him, I know that when he writes or say such a thing, he means the very opposite. Steve is a master at the English tongue. Maybe the fact that he was a lawyer helped him to develop his rare skills.
    Because you are my friend… I don’t dare to use the four letter word, followed by a three letter one, with a broad smile on my face.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

