in rural Paris, Iowa, and Wordpress

Translations [Excerpt]


No, I have not read El amor en los tiempos de cólera by Gabriel García Márquez. However, I have read a different book that I am told is related to it in some way. Love in the Time of Cholera is a book put together by a woman named Edith Grossman, Gabriel García Márquez’s translator. She and others tell me that Love in the Time of Cholera is a decent approximation in English of El amor en los tiempos de cólera. I have accepted their word for that. Gabriel García Márquez must agree with that. He chose her to translate his books and approved of the publication of this one that I read.

But how would Gabriel García Márquez himself know how closely this book approximates his? I myself certainly have no idea whatsoever how closely the experience of reading the book that I read twice approximates the experience of reading El amor en los tiempos de cólera. All I can tell you is that I enjoyed reading the book that I did read, the one put together by Edith Grossman. I personally–of my own knowledge–really know nothing at all about the book called El amor en los tiempos de cólera.

TO READ MORE

2 Responses to “Translations [Excerpt]”

  1. StephenBrassawe

    Nor would I know much more of it had I read it in Spanish. The diversity of language in the world has its charms and fascinations for anyone who loves words. That diversity also spawns its own frustration and tragedy. When words are deployed in a manner that is art, the touchstone of that art is the subtlety and nuance of it. I do not believe that anyone who takes up another language late in life will ever acquire an adequate feel for the subtlety and nuance of it. That is not something that can be learned. That must be taken in with mother’s milk. Then again, there are those who never acquire a feel for the subtlety and nuance of the language that they did take in with their mother’s milk.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

