in rural Paris, Iowa, and Wordpress

Mexico’s Bicentennial Eve

The Parroquia, the church on the main plaza.

Mexico was 200 years old as of last month, and the party continues apace because the centennial of the Revolution of 1910 will be here soon. I promise to spare you from any photos or videos of parades.

The night of 16 September was the eve of Mexico’s Independence Day. I was up in the main plaza, El Jardin, among ’em for the grito. That is the call and response of ¡Viva México! that is led by local government officials everywhere at 11:00 p.m. The President of Mexico lead the grito in the main square of Mexico City at 11:00 p.m. to start the party.

I realize that I am making more of this than it is for many outside of Mexico. I do enjoy this ceremony though and have since I first saw it and figured out the significance of it. I could not write about anything else at this time of the year.

Here is a video, as I promised, complete with voice over, showing the proceedings immediately leading up to the grito here last night along with a sample of the aftermath. The video is a shade less than five minutes long. Should you wish to simply cut to the chase, start it at the two-minute mark. The grito is at about 2:20.

This video is not mandatory. If you rate this entry, you will still get credit for being here even if you do not watch the video.

This is me with some woman in the crowd who was standing near me just before the grito.

One Response to “Mexico’s Bicentennial Eve”

  1. StephenBrassawe

    Just watched this video for the first time since it was put up here and am a bit embarrassed at my Spanish back then. All I can say is that I continue to improve.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

